top of page
Search
  • Mariaeugenia Gurdian

How I Have Grown

Updated: Mar 24, 2020

I discuss some specific skills I gained and improved. I improved on the skills that I had learned through involvement with leadership at FIU. I discuss my competency in said skills.



Throughout the experiences I had during my Global Learning journey, I built on existing skills and gained many more.


Skills

Through my internships, I improved my professional writing skills. From writing memorandums to developing proposals, I learned first-hand how to engage in different types of professional writing. I developed a better use of appropriate language and improved my conciseness.


My leadership role as a Student Ambassador, and within the program, has also bolstered many of my skills. It has instilled cooperative leadership in me, as we are taught to lead by example. This is very useful in relating with other students and is a very transferrable skill.


Although, I saw the biggest growth in me during my time as a CHLI Global Leader. This opportunity taught me the importance of connections and networking. This, in turn, led me to become significantly more outgoing. I learned to speak in front of a crowd, approach a stranger at a networking event, and most importantly, be myself in such situations. This skill is incredibly useful in my career track, since I will likely be in Washington, D.C., a city that is built on networking. Moreover, being more outgoing has taught me to share my perspective, something that I used to hold off on doing.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page